downloaded from the web on june 17 1995 507w



Tenth Anniversary Season

Founded in 1985, EARPLAY is an ensemble of composers and musicians dedicated to the performance of new American chamber music. EARPLAY encourages composers nationwide to write for the ensemble, offering audiences a unique opportunity to hear eloquent, vivid performances of some of today's finest chamber music.

EARPLAY will produce its first Compact Disc this season (on the Centaur label), with generous support from the Aaron Copland Fund for Music and the National Endowment for the Arts.

This season's three programs have featured world premieres, "classics" of the 20th-century repertoire, and encore performances of works written for EARPLAY in the past nine seasons. This year was our first in San Francisco's newest performance space--the Forum at Center for the Arts, Yerba Buena Gardens. For More Information:

telephone (415)974-9300, or email to


EARPLAYers 1994-95

George Thomson (viola, conductor), Janet Kutulas (flute), Joseph Edelberg (violin), Robin Bonnell (cello), Karen Rosenak (piano), Peter Josheff (clarinet), Andy Lewis (percussion).



1994-95 season programs _________________________________________________________________

NOVEMBER 21, 1994

EARPLAY's 10th Anniversary Season opens in our new home--The Forum, Center for the Arts

* Dorrance Stalvey: Exordium/Genesis/Dawn for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, percussion and piano * Richard Festinger: Septet for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, percussion and piano (CD) (encore) * Gustavo Moretto: Silenciosamente for violin, clarinet and piano (CD) (encore) * David Rakowski: Hyperblue for violin, cello and piano (west coast premiere) * Katherine Malyj: Trio for violin, cello, and piano (west coast premiere) _________________________________________________________________

JANUARY 30, 1995

The Old and the New, featuring the celebrated soprano Cheryl Marshall * Miguel Chuaqui: Juego for clarinet, bass clarinet and violin * Walter Winslow: Mirror of Diana for clarinet (west coast premiere) * Andrew Frank: Points of Departure for flute, clarinet, violin and cello (CD) (encore) * Beth Wiemann: Villancico for flute, clarinet, viola and cello (encore) * Maurice Ravel: Sonate for violin and cello * Luigi Dallapiccola: Goethe-Lieder for soprano and three clarinets _________________________________________________________________


An Established Master and Four Young Upstarts * Ursula Mamlok: Rhapsody for clarinet, viola and piano (CD) (encore) * Virginia Samuel: Silas for flute, violin, cello and piano (world premiere) * David Froom: Chamber Concerto for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, percussion and piano * David Vayo: Poem for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano (CD) (encore) * Wayne Peterson: Labyrinth for flute, clarinet, violin and piano (CD) (encore) _________________________________________________________________

Pre-concert talks begin at 7:15 P.M. Performances begin at 8 P.M. Programs are subject to change without notice. _________________________________________________________________

(CD) = works to appear on our forthcoming compact disc

(encore) = Encore performances of pieces written for EARPLAY and selected in celebration of our 10th anniversary _________________________________________________________________

The Forum at Yerba Buena

THE FORUM CENTER FOR THE ARTS, YERBA BUENA GARDENS 701 Mission St. (at 3rd), San Francisco

The Center for the Arts is a short walk from the Powell Street or Montgomery Street BART/Muni stations. Parking is available at the 4th & Mission St. garage.